Scary News in Employment Law

Spooky expansion of Cal-OSHA enforcement

Cal-OSHA will create two new violation categories – “enterprise-wide” and “egregious.” Effective January 1, 2022, Senate Bill (SB) 606 expands the enforcement authority of the California Division of Occupational Safety and Health (Cal-OSHA) by creating two new violation categories for which Cal-OSHA can issue citations … [CONTINUE READING]

Beware of terms in severance and settlement agreements

Expansive restrictions on non-disclosure provisions in settlement and severance agreements. Effective January 1, 2022, Senate Bill (SB) 331 will prohibit settlement agreements that prevent or restrict an employee from disclosing factual information related to the employee’s claims of sexual assault, harassment, discrimination, or retaliation. A settlement agreement that contains a provision that …  [CONTINUE READING]

Alarming fines for workplace posting violations

State and federal laws require employers to post specific information and notices in an area frequented by employees where they may be easily read during the workday. Additional posting requirements may apply to your workplace depending on your industry. Monetary penalties are assessed for failing to  … [CONTINUE READING]

Frightful case regarding the regular pay rate

Significant change in law regarding payment of meal and rest period penalties. In July 2021, the California Supreme Court issued a decision that impacts all employers who pay non-exempt employees an hourly rate plus non-discretionary payments made for work performed by an employee, including …  [CONTINUE READING]

Enchanting refinements to California Family Rights Act

Leave is allowed to care for a parent-in law. The California Family Rights Act (CFRA) requires employers with 5 or more employees to provide up to 12 weeks of unpaid family care and medical leave to employees who have worked for the employer for more than 12 months, and who have worked at least 1,250 hours in the year before leave begins. Assembly Bill (AB) 1033 corrects a drafting error by … [CONTINUE READING]

Rising minimum wage and exempt salary standards

On January 1, 2022, the California minimum wage will increase to $14.00 per hour for employers with 1-25 employees, and $15.00 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees. The minimum salary for exempt employees will increase January 1, 2022 as follows …  [CONTINUE READING]

We are honored to be voted the Best Law Firm in Monterey County  for the sixth year in a row.

Thank you for your continued confidence in our ability to provide excellent, cost effective legal services to our valued clients and the community.